Board of Directors

Visionaries leading from the front
Non-Executive Chairman


Mr. Shrikant Madhav Vaidya is a Chemical Engineer from the National Institute of Technology, Rourkela. He has over 34 years of extensive experience in refining & petrochemical operations. He has had a decade-long association with India's largest cracker plant – the Panipat Naphtha Cracker Complex, a major driver of IndianOil's petrochemicals business – right from the drawing board stage. He is among the select technocrats in the Indian oil & gas industry who are proficient in all facets of refinery-petrochemicals integration, desirable for the sustainability of the oil & gas industry in the long-term.

Mr. Vaidya is also a Non-Executive Chairman on the Board of Chennai Petroleum Corporation Ltd. (a Subsidiary of IndianOil), Ratnagiri Refinery & Petrochemicals Ltd. and Indian Oiltanking Ltd. (both Joint Venture Companies). He is also a Non-Executive Director on the Board of Petronet LNG Ltd. (a Joint Venture of IndianOil).

Managing Director (i/c) & Director (Finance)

Rajeev Ailawadi

Mr.Rajeev Ailawadi aged 58, is a Chartered Accountant and has done his IMBA (One year MBA course conducted by IIPM in association with University of Slovenia). He is a Senior finance professional with 30 years of experience in Downstream Oil & Gas, Petrochemical businesses. He was appointed on the Board of CPCL on 08.05.2018.


Mr.S.Krishnan was appointed as Director (Operations) effective 01.03.2020. He holds a Bachelors Degree in Electrical & Electronics from Alagappa Chettiar College of Engineering, Karaikudi. He has more than three decades of experience in CPCL and has held various positions in the fields of Projects, Maintenance, Operations etc.,


Shri.H.Shankar holds a Bachelor's Degree in Mechanical Engineering from Osmania University, Hyderabad. He also holds a Masters Degree in Business Administration in General Management from Maharaja Sayajirao University. He has nearly 3 decades of experience in the areas of Engineering, Maintenance, Project Construction, Project Management, Materials & Contracts Management and in depth knowledge in Health, Safety and Environment.
Nominee Director, GoI

Sukh Ram Meena, DDG, MoP&NG

Mr. Sukh Ram Meena holds a Master’s Degree in Economics and graduation in Law (LLB). He belongs to 1986 batch of Indian Statistical Services. He worked in various capacities in Gol departments / Ministries. Presently he is Deputy Director General (DDG) Finance, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas, Government of India, New Delhi and handling financial matters of the Ministry and Oil & Gas PSUs.
Nominee Director (Indian Oil Corporation Limited)

Manoj Sharma

Mr. Manoj Sharma has been appointed as a Director on the Board of Chennai Petroleum Corporation Limited (CPCL) w.e.f 24.07.2020 pursuant to the approval of the Board of Directors of the company at the Board meeting held on 24.07.2020.He is a Graduate in Chemical Engineering from University Institute of Chemical Engineering & Technology, Punjab University, Chandigarh in 1984 and holds an MBA from University of Ljubljana, Slovenia. He Joined Indian Oil Corporation Limited in 1985 and worked in various positions at Guwahati Refinery, Mathura Refinery, Corporate Office (International Trade), Panipat Refinery and Refinery Head Quarters, New Delhi. Presently, he is Executive Director (Operations), IOCL, responsible for reliable, safe, profitable & sustainable operations of the nine IndianOil Refineries and Petrochemical plants
Nominee Director - Naftiran Intertrade Co. Ltd.

Babak Bagherpour

Mr.Babak Bagherpour aged 44, holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Mining Engineering (Exploration) from Tehran Polytechnic University and a Master’s Degree in Reservoir Evaluation and Management from Heriot-Watt University, United Kingdom. He is presently the Manager of Project and Asset Department of Naftiran Intertrade Company Limited, Tehran, Iran. He has nearly two decades of experience in Oil and Gas Industry. He was appointed on the Board of CPCL on 27.03.2019.
Nominee Director - Naftiran Intertrade Co. Ltd.


Mr. Mohammad Bagher Dakhili aged 67, holds a Master’s Degree in Science from the University of Leeds, United Kingdom. He has 4 decades of experience in Oil & Gas Industry. He was appointed on the Board of CPCL on 23.01.2017.
Independent Director


Mr.D.Duraiganesan aged 58, holds a Master’s Degree in Arts and a Diploma in Saiva Siddhanta. He is a Social Worker. He was appointed on the Board of CPCL on 14.08.2018.
Independent Director

Amitabh Mathur

Shri.Amitabh Mathur holds a Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering – DCE from Delhi University (1980). He also holds a Master’s Degree in Business Administration from FMS, Delhi University (1989). He has more than 35 years of experience in PSUs with specialization in Power Generation and Transmission, Renewable Energy, Transportation, Captive Power, Oil & Gas, Defense and Water Management. He worked as a Director (Industrial Systems & Products), BHEL during Sep.2015 to May 2018 and Director (Power Sector – Eastern Region), BHEL during September 2013 to August 2015. He was also the Chairman, BHEL – GE Gas Turbine Services Pvt. Ltd. during May 2016 to June 2018.
Independent Director

Myneni Narayana Rao

Mr.Myneni Narayana Rao has been appointed as an Independent Director on the Board of CPCL at the meeting held on 27.07.2019.Shri. Myneni Narayana Rao holds a Bachelor’s degree in Technology, Mechanical from JNTU College of Engineering (1977) and a Post Graduate in Nuclear Science and Engineering – BARC (1978). He has nearly four decades of professional experience. He was the CMD of Mishra Dhatu Nigam Limited during 2006 to 2015. He was also the Chairman of Society of Defense Technologies (SODT) during 2010 to 2013. He was the Metallurgist of the year (2006) and won the Young Scientist Award in 1989.
Independent Director

Sobha Surendran

The Board of Directors of the Company has appointed Mrs.Sobha Surendran as an independent Director on the Board of CPCL , effective 31.10.2019. Smt.Sobha Surendran holds a Bachelor's Degree in Arts in Hindi. She is a Social Worker for the past 23 years in the areas of Women Safety, Child Safety, Tribal Issues etc. She has won Dr.B.R.Ambedkar Award for Best Social Worker and Shri.K.R.Narayanan Award for Best Female Social Worker and several other awards for Spiritual Organisations